Just because it looks like they aren’t struggling, doesn’t always mean they aren’t.

IMG_2055-231x300  20140112-1541232

There are so many people out there don’t see some peoples struggles with daily life. Some may come across as whether they are struggling with learning. We are so good at hiding our own true feelings and emotions to cover the fact that we don’t want people’s pity. The use of certain words can change completely the context of what is being said. We are all so quick to just drop lines and comments to anyone before we have actually thought it through.

As a sufferer of Dyslexia was for me a hindrance and I had a fear of voicing out that I was struggling. It takes a lot of courage for someone to find the confidence to tell someone they need help, however is this what friends are for? I have even had moments where I haven’t even told my closest friends of my learning difficulty. I knew but mainly had the fear of being treated differently, that’s a thing I can’t stand is being treated different. It wasn’t until I went to college in my second year of Catering that I went to the teacher and told them I was struggling. All I remember was being told I was being a complete idiot to not have told them.

From that point on I haven’t been scared to say I suffer from dyslexia but in a way I laugh it off most times. In some ways I just drop the “common you really think I’m going to be able to spell that”. It’s funny how a little bit confidence can change our mindsets make us look to improve our situations.

So don’t ever worry about struggling, it’s best to voice out and make it known to people. There are many people out there who have learning difficulties more importantly some who are actually very successful. The issues with learning disabilities is finding your strengths and working out way of counteracting your weakness.

ljggoodwin.

2 thoughts on “Just because it looks like they aren’t struggling, doesn’t always mean they aren’t.

Leave a Reply

