Is “Your Voice is your password” the most secure? MasterCard now uses fingerprints.

Now when I heard HSBC come out with the “my voice is my password” I wasn’t so keen on it. Is it more that my voice can potentially be recorded and played on loud speaker and then my account could then be accessed.

I tried it once on a call to GOV and well it was the must surreal thing ever! I’m not sure how comfortable I feel having my voice stored on a database which could be easily hacked and then my voice is open to the hackers to put on the black market.

MasterCard today have released information that they have come up with a scanner which uses your fingerprint to process any credit card payments. Now I’m aware that the most secure form of identification (ID) is your fingerprint as there is never one alike. But how secure is using your fingerprint scanner on the card?

I know that you can’t put a figure on how secure something is. Why is that you might ask, truth is everything which used a piece of technology where it be connected to the internet or not is always open to a threat. Anything is hackable! It doesn’t matter how hard you try to stop it, it’s always got a loop hole and that’s what the hackers look for. Any vulnerabilities in any type of software/hardware will always encounter an issue, the idea is that it’s all about reducing the chances of them vulnerabilities being exploited.

The thing with the scanner on the card is the more you use it and the more your fingers get dirty leave a mark on the scanner. If you look at it this way, if you put your finger in paint and press it on paper the fingerprint will appear on the paper. So could that be the same as the scanner on the card!

“Mastercard’s chief of safety and security, Ajay Bhalla, said that the fingerprint technology would help “to deliver additional convenience and security. It is not something that can be taken or replicated.

However, fingerprint sensors can be compromised. “(bbc.co.uk, 20/04/17)

If I’m honest I not too keen on this type of security. With everything being stored on the internet leaves it open to attacks and invading on your privacy. How long do we give it before everything will be out of the consumer’s control?

This is a scary thought to leave you with “Phones, Cards, Cars, Banks, Computers, even our identity. The day will surely come when we can’t prove who we are any more…”

ljgoodwin.

Leave a Reply

